Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-13-2005, 10:39 PM

Default Where to go next? Trying to improve. (NC)

So I've been playing poker for about 4 months now. I basically spent the summer studying poker like crazy. I've read ~10 books, gotten some tutoring, and lurked many of the 2+2 forums for some time with an occasional post, as well as idling #sstakes. One thing I'm lacking is a local friend who is into poker as much as I am that I can discuss theory with, but oh well.

Now since I'm busy with school I've slowed down the studying considerably and have just spent a couple hours a day playing. I've worked up to 12 tabling (now 10 because of Party) 2/4 and have done well I think. Here are some stats:

Almost all of it falls within CallMeIshmael's stats post.

Some comments about my own stats:

-I am about 2% tighter than I used to be since I started 10-12 tabling, so I am probably missing a bit of value there, but I do like the low standard deviation/100 (it's 14.6)

-I am quite aggressive postflop. But I find it is due to most people being very passive so I usually have to do the betting.

-My button winnings are a little low, which is weird. It could just be not enough hands, or maybe I play certain hands wrong from that spot.

-I think my play is rather straightforward, but it seems to be working.

Any comments or suggestions about my stats would be appreciated, but that isn't my main concern. I posted my stats so that people could get a feel for where my game is at right now, so that I can hopefully get some good answers to my current problem.

I want to move up. Mainly to make more money faster, but also to become a better player.