Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-06-2005, 04:57 PM

Default Some questions on winrates, bankrolls, moving up, and stuff

First, a brief history.

A little more than a year and a half ago I started playing online SnGs at Stars and got to the point where I was pretty decent. I branched out into limit ring games, it went horribly, and I tilted away my whole bankroll which wasn't all that significant in terms of absolute dollars. I took a little vacation then tried it again, and read SSHE and combined with some bonus whoring and a decent MTT finish, I built my bankroll and gave limit ring games another try. I have come to the conclusion that they aren't for me. Without a major tiltfest, I find myself barely beating the .5/1 games at Party. More to the point, they frustrate me to no end. I've switched to NL and it feels much more comfortable.

My bankroll is about $1500 but I started at the $25 NL games to get the hang of it before moving into deeper waters.

I read in this thread that an 8 PTBB/100 winrate is sustainable by fairly decent players.

I've got about eight thousand hands logged in PT and have been bouncing between 8 and 11 PTBB/100 for the last four thousand or so. I assume that eight thousand hands isn't enough to have reliable data. What is? In the limit discussions they talk of ten thousand as an absolute minimum and some talk of needing as many as 100,000. With variance lower at NL I would think you would need fewer hands. Anyone have a good rule of thumb I can use?

According to this thread and this thread I am ridiculously overbankrolled for this level, and I would like to move up as soon as I can.