Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-24-2005, 09:36 AM

Default Math Textbooks, Yeah, I\'m a geek and I know it...

Hey all:

So I'm seriously thinking about going back to grad school to get a Masters in Financial Engineering. Pretty excited about it. I have been working in the software industry for about 5 years now and it is lame with little to no math. I love math, but alas I think I'm a little rusty on my higher math. So I'm looking to buy some higher math books.

So my questions are:

1) Does anybody know of a good Calculus textbook?
2) Does anybody know of a good Probablity and Statistics textbook?
3) Does anybody know of a good Linear Algebra textbook?
4) Does any college student wish to sell any or all of these to me?

Thanks all.

-Gryph
Old 05-24-2005, 10:47 AM

Default Re: Math Textbooks, Yeah, I\'m a geek and I know it...

Forgotten Calculus is currently lying on my apartment floor but it seems like a quality review for someone in your (or my similar) situation.

There is another "Forgotten" book for algebra and assuming it covers linear I guess that could work too.

I'm lost as to what's good for stats though so I'll be monitoring this to see if anyone comes up with anything good.
Old 05-24-2005, 11:15 AM

Calculus really isn't that high of a level of mathematics. I covered that in high school. Math gets really nasty in college. I don't think you'd like math if you took some of the courses that I took.
Old 05-24-2005, 11:16 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Calculus really isn't that high of a level of mathematics. I covered that in high school. Math gets really nasty in college. I don't think you'd like math if you took some of the courses that I took.

[/ QUOTE ]

He asked for a calculus book I gave him a calculus book recommendation

He asked for a linear algebra I...tired to give a linear algebra book recommendation

what else do you want?