Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-06-2005, 11:03 AM

Default Spring Break 5/10 Personal Challenge

My poker odyssey. I've been playing since June of 2004. I got to 2/4 in August and met with enourmous success. I made ~3K per month from August to December. I took stabs at 3/6 but didn't like the table texture of the tight games. I probably was only barely a winning player at 3/6 if at all. So in December I decided to try my hand at 6 max. After a number of starts and stops, I was down a couple hundred at 5/10 at the end of February. It wasn't the money that made me gunshy. I could see that the short game was very different to what I was use to. I didn't read hands as well as I needed to. I was overagressive in spots and passive in spots. I spend a couple months playing at pokerroom, paridise, and stars learning the 6-max game at lower limits. At the end of March, I played a couple thousand hands of 5/10 and did okay. So I decided on my spring break (I'm a teacher, not a student) I would dedicate myself to 5/10 for the week. My goal was to play 6 hours a day or ~2K hands. I would play between 3-6 tables depending on how I felt. Part of the reason I want to do this was to familiarize myself with a 40hr poker workweek. I know it's tough, but I want some first hand experience with it. I'm planning on playing pretty heavily over the summer and this will make it easier for me to estimate what kind of hours I'm capable of putting in.

Day 1 - April 1
I played for 2.45 hours. Felt pretty good with the hours since I worked a full day.

Daily Totals
$146.50
1.68 BB/100
870 Hands

Day 2 - April 2