Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-02-2005, 05:05 AM

Default I keep losing (annoying content)

So you've read this a million times before, but I might have a valid question. I'm relatively new to poker (playing since August) and have been trying to improve my game. I study books and these boards and evaluate my play based on this study, and then try to put into action everything I learn. Unfortunately the last two months have been bad. I feel my play has improved, but I haven't seen any results as such. And while I know I'm not supposed to be results oriented, my lack of winning is making it hard for me to differentiate between bad play, bad luck, and bad beats (the bad beats are few and far between, so the real challenge is figuring out the other two).

So my question is: What's the best way for me work on my game through this losing streak, when the "correct" plays are not holding up (and therefore not reinforcing "correct" plays)?

And, you know, I'm sorry for complaining.
Old 03-02-2005, 07:25 AM

Default Re: I keep losing (annoying content)

If you wish to continue playing you simply need to play through a run of bad luck, suckouts etc. It took me about six months to get to a breakeven stage, and after around another six months now I am a modest winner at the micros (2BB/100 or so at .5/1 and 1/2 6 max).

If you know you are playing correctly but still losing, keep playing that way and you win in the long run, it's just that the long run can be longer than you think [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Post hands in the Micro forum that you think you played correctly but lost, and use PT to analyse your play, stats etc. (don't read too much into your stats just yet though).
Old 03-02-2005, 08:29 AM