Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-19-2005, 05:31 AM

Default Bay 101 changing from button drop to rake

Was over at Bay 101 tonight and they were passing out flyers explaining that on Jan 26th, they are changing over to a rake from the current button drop. Rake at 2/4 will be $3 and 4/6 through 15/30 will be $4. 20/40 and up will be a time charge.

I will like not having the 3rd force bet, I won't like the $1 increase per hand that is taken off the table.
Old 01-19-2005, 01:31 PM

Default Re: Bay 101 changing from button drop to rake

I have recently been playing at the Oaks in Emeryville. I started playing there because they switched from a time charge to a rake. I think that there is an advantage to the rake at the lower limits. This is because I play very tight in these games mostly 3-6 6-12 because you pretty much have to show down the best hand to win any pot. But on the up side you will get action even if you are viewed as a very tight player because frankly, 90% of the people in the game arent even watching. I used to not like the time charge because It seemed that a very tight player will pay the same as someone who calls every pot to the river. Since I have been playing there with the rake, I have crushed the 3-6 game. They take a 3 dollar rake and 1 dollar jackpot drop at 3-6 and 6-12.

That being said, the card room makes more money with the rake. My logic is that the bad players are paying most of the rake and thus the rake is an advantage to tight aggresive players.

Is this logic flawed?

I dont play at bay 101 because of the forced button blind.

Can anyone give me an explanation of which option is better.

1) Forced BB on the button

2) Time charge

3) Rake
Old 01-19-2005, 01:41 PM

4) time pots.
Old 01-19-2005, 03:01 PM

[ QUOTE ]
4) time pots.

[/ QUOTE ]