Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-22-2004, 09:34 PM

Default NL books for beginners?

hi!

i'm quite new to poker, i have been playing online for just a few months. i play mostly fixed at the lower limits, but like to play some low buy-in NL cash games, freerolls and sit & go:s as well.

i have bought WLLH, TOP, SSH and HPAP, which all seem to be great books.

what i'd like to add to my small but rapidly growing poker library is a couple of good books on NL holdem. both tourney play and cash games, preferably something useful for a beginner/intermediate player who plays small stakes NL.

i'm thinking of buying harrington's book. will it be too difficult for a beginner? any good book i could read before HOH?

what about mcevoy and cloutiers books? sklanskys TPAP? brunsons supersystem? other suggestions?

thankful for your time. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

niklas
Old 12-23-2004, 09:39 AM

Default Re: NL books for beginners?

surely some of you must have an idea about which NL books are good and not to difficult? help me out please... would HOH be completely over my head? is ciaffones PL&NL poker any good?

i would really appreciate some opinions.
Old 12-23-2004, 10:53 AM

You might want to get by "No-Limit Texas Hold'em: The New Players Guide to Winning Poker's Biggest Game" by Brad Daugherty and Tom McEvoy. I haven't read it, but the general consensus around here seems to be that it's a decent intro book for a beginner. My brother got it and liked it. From what I've read it's almost exclusively geared towards tournaments.
Old 12-26-2004, 05:03 PM

ok, thanks for the advice. anyone else got an opinion?
Old 12-26-2004, 07:45 PM

[ QUOTE ]
ok, thanks for the advice. anyone else got an opinion?

[/ QUOTE ]

I have only read three good books for NL cash games and tournaments. In no particular order,