Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-17-2004, 04:43 PM

Default daydreaming and realistic goals

I have been playing poker for about 3 years with regularity. When I started it was as a $2-4 player. I won and lost with a few more losses than wins.

Then I read some books and improved my game. I didn't know where I was going with poker but I was just hoping to be a break even or (fingers crossed) profitable player. I used to look over in awe at the $5-10 game and the higher games were just unheard of for me.

Last year I moved up to $5-10 and after a session I felt I belonged and wasn't afraid of those limits. Actually, I felt I belonged before I moved up but it was reassuring to still feel that way after playing it.

A year and half of making money at $5-10 and I was off to $10-20. Again I felt I would make it but you never know until you do it for real. Now after a few months of profitable play there I see $20-40 in my future but still far off.

The point of this is how far up the ladder do you look? I have never realistically looked ahead more than one limit as a goal. I feel I'm going about this the right way builing a bankroll and steadilly moving up.

I try not to dream although I wouldn't mind being a Hellmuth or Harrington with their results or even a one hit wonder but those are unrealistic dreams.

Just wondering how everyone looks into their own future and what they see.
Old 09-17-2004, 05:05 PM

Default Re: daydreaming and realistic goals

Look up the Peter Principle in business management.

Many companies used to promote an employee to a position he or she could handle and then leave the employee there. Its a bit more complicated then that, however thats the Cliff notes version.