Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-19-2004, 05:12 PM

Default Why am I not winning anymore??

Hey, I started playing playing online no limit poker about 6 months ago on partypoker. I started with nl25, then moved up to nl50. Since then i've been consistently winning and made around 9k. However, the last 2-3 weeks i haven't been winning...i haven't really lost too much ( a few hundred), but stopped winning the way I used to. I really dont know why...it seems like I've been getting unlucky and the tables are much tighter (not getting paid off as much), but I think it might be my mindset also. Postflop I've been making bad plays and calls more often. I just dont seem to have the discipline or focus anymore. I dont really enjoy playing that much, but I want to play to make money (I'm in college). Another thing is I switched from 3 to 4 tables at a time about the time I started doing poorly....could that be why? It doesn't seem to affect me much but I dont know. Any suggestions or advice?
Old 04-19-2004, 06:11 PM

Default Re: Why am I not winning anymore??

Two to three weeks of losing modestly are nothing to worry about. Mason wrote that you can expect to have MUCH longer losing streaks just because of random variations in your "luck."
In fact, some excellent players have had MUCH longer and more severe losing streaks.
Since it's early days, my primary advice is DON'T PANIC.
You might also go to cardplayer.com, click on magazine, writers, and my name. There is a two part series, "Running bad or playing badly?"
Clarkmeister started a thread here about those articles, and there were many posts in it. It may still be here.
Regards,
Al
Old 04-19-2004, 11:53 PM