Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Micro-Limits (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   beginner's advice: 0.5/1 or 1/2??? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=306956)

lillumultipass 08-03-2005 03:50 PM

beginner\'s advice: 0.5/1 or 1/2???

Hi to all!
Ok, so, on to some background. I started playing Hold'em a few months ago (around March), but I haven't played a lot lately...Anyway, now I want to start playing seriously, I am reading books more seriously (King Yao, SSHE...)...
The thing is, I am wondering which limit I should start with. When I used to play, I started at 1/2, but only because Interpoker didn't have lower limits. But now they have, and I was considering playing 0.5/1...until I saw some other guy's post about how hard it is to move to 1/2. Thus, since I have the necessary bankroll, shouldn't I start with 1/2? Because I don't want to get some bad habits playing 0.5/1. On the other hand, it is true that it seems to me that there are LOTS of bad players playing 0.5/1, and fewer rocks...
Any advice would be welcomed!
[img]/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Thanks!

davelin 08-03-2005 03:51 PM

Re: beginner\'s advice: 0.5/1 or 1/2???

Start at the lowest limit and work up.

magates 08-03-2005 03:54 PM

If you're serious about learning the game, I don't think you're going to develop any bad habits at .5/1. Lower limits allow you to gain experience with less risk, and build your bankroll up vs. weaker players.

fizzleboink 08-03-2005 04:49 PM

Well I started playing seriously almost 2 months ago and I started at 1/2. I did this mostly to clear bonuses at an optimal rate (although 2/4 is better at some sites, 1/2 is always decent). Since then I have tripled my starting bankroll (which was $500, again to maximize bonuses).