Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Micro-Limits (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Anyone else dread AKo ? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=227887)

chipper57AA 04-07-2005 03:12 PM

Anyone else dread AKo ?

One of my first posts asking for advice on the micro limits so apologies if I haven't done enough searches on the board before posting. This probably has been beaten to death but for someone who's struggling with this hand I'm asking for more opinions...

I've been playing on Stars for the last 8 months. Started out with $100 and worked it up to $255 playing .25/.50 and now some .50/1 tables (just single tabling for now). I also am using PokerTracker and love that software. I use it for analyzing my play afterwards.

One particular leak in my play seems to be playing what I now call "the dreaded AKo" or as I call it "the Big Suck". According to PT, its one of my biggest money losing hands. After 10k hands (yes I know - not enough), I'm winning about 40% of those hands but am losing more money statistically on this than on any other "premium" hand.

I almost always raise this hand pre-flop. I believe my leak occurs during my post-flop play, especially when it misses the flop (which happens most the time). Normally if I had raised pre-flop and I miss the flop and have the opportunity to be 1st to bet, I find myself betting out anyway, usually to help narrow the field. Yet I find myself turning suddenly cold on the turn when I "miss" again. Despite varying my play a bit, I'm usually caught with Ace high on these hands and out 3-4BB per hand. Typically, if I "hit" on the flop and bet then I'm not getting much action (as I would expect).