Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Internet Gambling (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Getting A Dual Monitor Setup Need Help! (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=193614)

Admania 02-10-2005 08:05 PM

Getting A Dual Monitor Setup Need Help!

Ok here's the deal. I have a dell 2001fp monitor and I am wanting to buy a second one so i can 8 table effectively. My pc is pretty new. I have a radionx600xt graphics video card and my pc is a hp media center jobby. I am a novice when it comes to setting up my pc so i can run 2 2001fp's through my computer. My question is given this information what would i need to do to have dualling heaven. Do i need a new graphics/video card? If anyone can help i would be eternally grateful because i won't buy my second monitor until i know for sure what i need to do. Please help.

J-Lo 02-10-2005 08:13 PM

Re: Getting A Dual Monitor Setup Need Help!

is your vid card capable of dual monitors? go to anandtech.com and go to their forums and post to see how to get a dual monitor setup.

BradleyT 02-10-2005 08:52 PM

You can use the VGA (blue) and DVI (white) plugs in the back of your computer. They'll be right next to each other.

Admania 02-11-2005 02:15 PM

Thx for the responses. Yes I can see there is the vga blue plug that i have my 2001fp linked up to at the moment. My question is what is the white socket for and how do i use it? As you can see I am a laymen, do i need a certain cable or something? Cheers

NoTalent 02-11-2005 02:18 PM

The white socket is a DVI plug. Your 2001FP should have came with both cables. Unplug your VGA (blue) cable immediatley! Use the DVI because it looks soooo much better!

I will have to check and see if your vid card allows you to use both at the same time.

Admania 02-11-2005 02:25 PM

Yeah i found my dvi cable, should i change it what is the difference, what does dvi stand for?