Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Multi-table Tournaments (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   An AJo hand... (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=107296)

cferejohn 07-28-2004 01:54 PM

An AJo hand...

Party super Tuesday. I've got ~T1200. Blinds are 50/100. I'm pretty new to the table, so not much in the way of reads.

I get AJo on the button. Big stack (~T4000) open limps from MP (I'd seen about 5 hands at this table, and he'd limped in at least one of them, fwiw). Shortstack in the cutoff goes all-in for 240. What do you do?

Tosh 07-28-2004 02:03 PM

Re: An AJo hand...

Fold. Perhaps thats too tight but I don't want to get involved now.

slogger 07-28-2004 02:28 PM

I's probably fold. Would consider pushing with AQs or better.

MLG 07-28-2004 02:32 PM

I say flat call if the BB comes along fine, play a careful flop and if he makes a big bet you can get out.

cferejohn 07-28-2004 02:57 PM

Results

Interesting. I thought this was a pretty easy push with just 12x the BB left. I want to isolate the all-in because I think he pushes with all kinds of hands that I beat here, and even a coinflip is significantly +EV if I can isolate.

I push. Everyone else folds. All-in has KJ and I bust him and get 250 more from the blinds+the limper.

Worked out this time, I was curious if my play was standard or if others would have played it differently. I can see folding. I don't really like flat calling 1/5 of my stack) If an ace flops, are you willing to put in all your chips?

durron597 07-28-2004 03:05 PM

Re: Results

I don't know the blind structure of the Super Tuesday, but unless I have reason to believe that the big stack is going to limp with AA/KK, I would push here too, assuming we're far from the money.