Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Beginners Questions (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   How often will quads over quads happen? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=111259)

davidross 08-09-2004 05:06 PM

How often will quads over quads happen?

I've played about 500,000 hands in the last year, and maybe close to a million hands online since I started playing poker, and I haven't seen quads over quads yet. In fact I've never seen a hand that would qualify for a bad beat jackpot where Aces full loses.

I've seen straight flushes lose (1 card flush though), and I've had 6 or 7 Royal flushes in that time, but I've yet to see quads lose. I wonder if the expectation is more often than once in a million hands.

dogmeat 08-09-2004 05:27 PM

Re: How often will quads over quads happen?

I don't know, David, but I can add my big hands here from almost a year of online play: I've beaten Aces full twice, once with a St. Flush and once with quads. I've had my aces full beaten once, by quad deuces. That's it. I do remember making quad nines in a game a few years ago and losing to a srtraight flush, but these instances certainly do seem rare.

Dogmeat [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

pokerjo22 08-09-2004 06:57 PM

There's about an order of magnitude difference in the probability of quads over quads, and a royal flush. Once you've seen about 10 royals you should see quads over quads [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

I've seen a flopped set over set over set. I think that's my rarest moment.

Malarky 08-09-2004 07:06 PM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

That must have been a massive pot.

Ponks 08-09-2004 07:08 PM