Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Other Other Topics (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Going deaf... who else? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=406601)

gulebjorn 12-28-2005 03:57 PM

Going deaf... who else?

Just had my hearing tested today and found out I've already lost 30% of my hearing. I basically have the ears of a 55 year old.

I've been playing drums for 10 years, played in a few bands, went to a lot of live concerts, so I guess that explains it.

It will never heal, but I ordered some 120$/pair earplugs to prevent further damage.

So how good are your ears, why (not) and what are you doing about it?

asofel 12-28-2005 04:00 PM

Re: Going deaf... who else?

ehh??

pokerdirty 12-28-2005 04:00 PM

[ QUOTE ]
ehh??

[/ QUOTE ]

woooow....didn't see that one coming...

FouTight 12-28-2005 04:03 PM

People, have been telling me my whole life I was going to lose my hearing (lots of concerts, loud music, big car stereo, etc). Funny thing is, sitting around the house, I'm always the one that hears stuff, like cell phones viberating in another room, etc, when nobody else picks up on it.

If I lose my hearing, so be it, I'll just by a bigger stereo.

asofel 12-28-2005 04:04 PM

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
ehh??

[/ QUOTE ]

woooow....didn't see that one coming...

[/ QUOTE ]

hmm?

mrkilla 12-28-2005 04:10 PM

as you get older you loose your hearing anyway , you may want to order the miracle ear, so small no one will notice!

turnipmonster 12-28-2005 04:11 PM

I have really bad hearing from years of playing gigs with loud drummers, horn players etc. in my experiences playing in bars is the worst for your hearing, big clubs that have a nice sound system usually have a good monitor setup which is really key.