Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Other Other Topics (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Proper Job Interview attire (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=366041)

BoogerFace 10-26-2005 04:48 PM

Proper Job Interview attire

I've got a job interview tomorrow. Is a suit and tie standard these days or too dressy? I hate the business casual concept.

Currently I'm a software engineer at a small OEM, my interview is for a large hardware company.

p.s. I hate job interviews. So much so that it's been 8 years since my last one.

Crimson 10-26-2005 04:49 PM

Re: Proper Job Interview attire

Yeah. Suit and Tie = very important.

stabn 10-26-2005 04:51 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Yeah. Suit and Tie = very important.

[/ QUOTE ]

In the software industry this really depends on the company. If you don't know better and can't find out then i agree. However a suit is almost always overkill in this industry.

jnalpak 10-26-2005 04:51 PM

[ QUOTE ]

I hate the business casual concept.

[/ QUOTE ]

this is only AFTER you get the job

Suit & Tie is mandatory Good Luck!

B Dids 10-26-2005 04:55 PM

I had this debate a while back wrt people I interviewed.

One girl was dressed normally, professionaly.

The other girl was in an outfit that while mostly professional, the top was sleevless and a little risque (it would have worked with a blazer, but wouldn't have been out of place in a club either). Now I don't mind, and both were dress comparativly nicer than I was, but it did tilt my perception of the 2nd girl.

Not because I judge people specifically on how they're dressed, but because dressing like that calls into question the thought process that the person employeed in preparing for the interview.