Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Probability (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Doomsday Thereom (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=139902)

jimdmcevoy 10-24-2004 04:49 PM

Doomsday Thereom

I have been studying physics and maths at university for four years and I am not sure I have spelled 'thereom' correctly, oh dear. Please don't hold it agaisnt me if it is wrong.

Anyway, this is an interesting thereom I read about one day and thought a little more about it, first off I'll give you some assumptions, if you don't like these assumptions please don't argue them on this thread, another thread another time.

1. There is a finite number of humans ever to live in this Universe. Call this number N.

2. If you give each human to ever exist a number from 1 to N in order of when they were born, the number we and every one else has recieved (around 50 billion for us I am guessing) was random, it could have just as easily been 1 or N or 50 or 51 etc.

Please note this does not necessarily depend on whether or not you believe in god, so please don't bring god into it unless you think you really have to.

Okay, so I did a quick search one day and guestimated my number, which should be relativly close to everyone else's number who is currently alive, is about 50 billion. I am 95% certain that I am no more than an order of magnitude off with this (As in N<500 billion).

But for now lets just call my number x.

Now, given that x (me) has an equal chance to be any integer between and including 1 and N, it is just as likely that x<N/2 than x>N/2. As in it is just as likely I am in the first half of all people then in the second half. This can be genaralised as there is a probablity p that x<N*p. Convince yourself this is true with a few examples if need be before you go on.