Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Internet Gambling (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Online poker and taxes...? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=286790)

plomahaaaa 07-05-2005 05:57 PM

Online poker and taxes...?

I'm just curious how the government keeps track of gambling wins/losses over the internet. Someone told me that on partypoker the government looks at cashouts over $1500, which seems to make sense considering my large cashouts seem to take a bit longer. I tend to cashout/deposit a lot and have honestly lost track of my wins/losses...is this a big deal, something I need to be taking close tabs on? I am by no means a professional, more of a recreational player. It seems that it would be a bit of a hassle keeping track of all my sessions wins/losses, but at the same time I don't want to get myself in trouble with Uncle Sam. Also, typically what % of reported winnings go to the government?

Thanks

ds914 07-05-2005 07:38 PM

Re: Online poker and taxes...?

Yes, you should be keeping track of all of your sessions (not just for tax reasons). Just start a simple spreadsheet.

There a ton of posts on taxes. Just do a search, and you'll find answers to all of your questions.

TheHammer24 07-05-2005 07:43 PM

I've made 3000 this year. However, I only work 3 months a year, and the majority of that money is tips, therefore, 3000 is more than what I make in reported wages.

Should I worry about reporting such a small amount of money.

Uglyowl 07-05-2005 08:34 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I've made 3000 this year. However, I only work 3 months a year, and the majority of that money is tips, therefore, 3000 is more than what I make in reported wages.

[/ QUOTE ]

Of course you need to report it. Most people don't consider $3,000 chump change.

BottlesOf 07-05-2005 08:40 PM

[ QUOTE ]