Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   The Stock Market (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Going for the gold (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=198042)

wickedgoodtrader 02-18-2005 01:00 AM

Going for the gold

I'm 23 and have been a successful poker player for about 4 years now. I play in the winter and run a lawn biz in the summer. I recently started trading about 4 months ago. I got tired of playing cards.. just seemed like a constant grind that I never see myself gettin rich at. I'd average about $2500 a month profit but after my morgage payment and other expenses, I wasn't making as much as I'd like. I have all the goods now.. insider purchase alerts, live newsires, and the advanced anylyzer from ameritrade. I put $3500 into the account and now have 8k. Apparently the government has restrictions on what a daytrader can do if they have less then 25k in their account (long explaniation, but they'll lock up your margin and shorting ability). Well I don't know how they say most daytraders lose, but I see ridiculous returns on stocks that i've missed. Make a long story short.. I'm going to get me a 40k home equity loan tomorrow and im going for the gold! Plannin on making 100k minimum the first year.

tech 02-18-2005 01:30 AM

Re: Going for the gold

[ QUOTE ]
I recently started trading about 4 months ago. I'm going to get me a 40k home equity loan tomorrow and im going for the gold! Plannin on making 100k minimum the first year.

[/ QUOTE ]

Yikes! I hope you are kidding. If not, I hope you reconsider. If this is what you want to do, take some time and plan it right. But definitely give it more than four months before you mortgage the house. That is 80-85 trading days at most.

midas 02-18-2005 10:54 AM

A few comments on your upcoming venture: