Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   One-table Tournaments (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   weakest opponents hardest to win in? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=296543)

alphatmw 07-20-2005 02:08 AM

weakest opponents hardest to win in?

this isn't the typical donkeys call me with j2 and my aces lose! post

cause it seems to me that a SNG with a bunch of weak/tight opponents, even a strong player cannot hope to place that often. when you get to level 6 with 7 players still at the table, its gonna be timing and cards that determine the winner.

i started playing at bodog cause i heard the play there was pretty easy.. and its obvious most of the people aren't that great. i usually don't see a raise or bet of more than 3x big blind. lots of min raises and min bets. but this means that when you see a AK vs. KQ on a K high board, the KQ might only lose 10% of his stack because of the passive play.

is my thinking flawed in any way here?

citanul 07-20-2005 02:16 AM

Re: weakest opponents hardest to win in?

[ QUOTE ]
is my thinking flawed in any way here?

[/ QUOTE ]

yes. your thinking is flawed in almost every way.

a few things:

1) if your opponents are min betting, that doesn't mean you have to too. so if you get AK v KQ, there' no reason that you shouldn't get most of someone's chips if they're just calling a lot.

2) if your opponents are all too tight and hanging around by not playing hard enough, or crazy enough, there are other tactics to use to beat them. ie, if everyone plays "proper tight sng strategy" you have to think outside that box to beat them. but they are definitely beatable.

citanul

alphatmw 07-20-2005 02:59 AM