Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Multi-table Tournaments (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Advice on this AK hand, please (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=142213)

napawino 10-29-2004 02:45 PM

Advice on this AK hand, please

This hand has been bugging me because although I’m still learning something every week, this is the first time in a while I was “conceptually confused” in a while. I have to admit that I really had no reads on the players at this time. I showed down a winner to double up but none of the 4 had done anything to really tell me how they play to this point.

PokerStars $30 Multi – 20 minutes in
~540 people started; ~480 remain
Blinds 15/30
Hero has T$4000; average is ~T$1700
Hero in the BB with AKos
MP: $2000
MP+1: $2000
Button: $1000

Folded to MP, who makes it $90 (3BB)
MP+1 calls
Folded to button who raises $410 to $500 (putting ½ his stack in the pot)
What should be my action?

My thoughts: (Again, I’m very conflicted)
Obviously I like AK, but the action by 3 other players confuses me a little.. Of course this isn’t the WSOP, so a wider array of hands are possible than you might see in a bigger buy-in.
Button: In my experience on PS at this limit, A 14BB raise here normally means JJ, QQ, or maybe KK from a decent player. From a bad player this usually signals 55-99. (Does this match other’s experiences?)
Of course the 14BB raise was also ½ his stack – making me really scratch my head about what hand he would bet like this but not leave enough to protect on the flop

MP: I’m assuming a typical raising hand when first in from MP. (99 & up?)
MP+1: At this limit we could be looking at suited connectors 9T-KQ, almost any PP if he’s loose, or maybe AJ, AQ. Probably not AK.

Again, this varies a lot site-to-site & depending on the buy-in, but how are these assumptions?

What to do?