Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   News, Views, and Gossip (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Poker Documentary (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=752)

02-27-2002 03:33 PM

Poker Documentary

Hello:

I am an independent San Francisco-based journalist and filmmaker currently researching a documentary on professional poker players.

My intent is to find California-based professional players as they prepare and compete in the World Series of Poker. I am trying to locate compelling people to interview for the documentary and was hoping that this might be a place to meet charismatic and outspoken players. I am also looking for people who can give insights and colorful stories about people and the game who might not be competing in the World Series, again based in California. I would be grateful for any help or ideas.

I currently work with Agence France-Presse, National Public Radio, and MSNBC. Thank you for your time and attention.

Sincerely,

R. Scott Macintosh

pokerdocumentary@yahoo.com

02-27-2002 05:20 PM

Re: Poker Documentary

Scott,

You came to the right place. You should come the Lucky Chances in Colma, California on Wednesday or Friday. This week you can catch Ray Zee, a world famous player and writer who does not play the WSOP. Next week Bobby Hoff and Salim Bahtson (Sam) should be back from the Commerce. Bobby might be there today. Both are longtime veteran no limit pros. Bobby ("the Wizard") is world famous and placed second in the main event in the early eighties, taking a terrible bad beat. He's had more than his share of heartbreaker defeats at the WSOP. He's your best bet for the old-time veteran angle. Sam played for the first time last year and placed 21st out of 612. Both are at the very top of the profession.