Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Computer Technical Help (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   I want to try something I haven't seen yet (network question) (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=279467)

NateDog 06-24-2005 03:53 AM

I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
So I got a new computer (HP media center) that's got a ton of processing power; Pentium 4, 1 gig RAM, 160 gig 7200 RPM HD, but I don't want to give up the old box. My question is this -

Can I use the old box to host PT? Sounds simple enough right? I have networked the 2 comps, but need directions on how to 'run' PT on the new box while it's hosted on the old box. I guess it's like a server set-up. I tried simply sharing the entire PT folder and opening from the new box, but it gave me a 'can't find DB' error.

I'm also assuming that I would have to share the HH files and point to them so PT could find them across the network.

Is it possible to host programs on one box, and run them from the other (Outlook, PT, etc.)

The new comp's video card does not have a DVI out. Standard monitor jack, and S vid. I'm gonna have to swap out the dual monitor card in the old box, and once I do, I don't plan on having a monitor connected to it. (Unless I go 'TILT' style and run 2 boxes, 2 monitors, and 2 mice!)

Also I need a dvd codec, but that's another story.

If you can give me some advice, or point me to a site I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Nate

TheTROLL 06-24-2005 06:29 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
Nice piece of kit. Have you got as far as being able to open the PT folder on one machine as a mapped drive on the other?

RPMick 06-24-2005 08:01 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
Honestly, I'd hit the PokerTracker forums. Someone over there has likely done this before. I think your main hurdle is going to be that the PT software isn't an application as much as it is an interface to the data base itself.

I think this will end up being a software problem that you may, or may not, be able to overcome.

DVD codecs...what are you looking for? Nemo codec used to be the all in 1 codec, now I have no idea.

krimson 06-24-2005 10:05 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
If I understand what your trying to do correctly...

If you have PokerTracker on your old computer, then the new computer cannot "run" pokertracker. What you need to do is run pokertracker from your old computer, share your handhistory folders on your new computer and point pokertracker to the share.

PlayerView or whatever program you use will then need to be re-pointed to the share on your old computer where the database is.

I'm still not even sure if this will work, but this is how it would have to be setup.

"Is it possible to host programs on one box, and run them from the other (Outlook, PT, etc.)"

No.

"The new comp's video card does not have a DVI out. Standard monitor jack, and S vid. I'm gonna have to swap out the dual monitor card in the old box, and once I do, I don't plan on having a monitor connected to it. (Unless I go 'TILT' style and run 2 boxes, 2 monitors, and 2 mice!)"

This won't work. The computer will eventually crash, or give some error, or something that will require your intervention. How are you going to fix this if you can't see it?

If you only have 1 monitor, then get a switch box. You can get switch's that connect your keyboard, mouse and monitor to two different computers, and then you just press a button on the switch to go back and forth between the two.

StevieG 06-24-2005 10:27 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
[ QUOTE ]
I think your main hurdle is going to be that the PT software isn't an application as much as it is an interface to the data base itself.

[/ QUOTE ]

RPMick has it right. There is a version of PT in beta test now using the postgres database as a backend store. Assuming that you could configure the PT client to use the database on the other machine, this would be the way to go.

Keep that old machine handy, NateDog. Wait for the postgres version and the conversion routines to migrate the hand db, and you'll get what you want.

NateDog 06-24-2005 11:14 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
Thanks for all the replies.

DVD codec - errr, we won't get to deep into the whole 'system recovery disks misplaced' thing. Let's just say WMP10 doesn't come with a dvd codec.

As for the video/card monitor question, I have 2 monitors, but the new comp's card only has outputs for one. I am going to put in the dual monitor card from the old box, to support 2 monitors. I don't plan on having a monitor on the old computer (if this is at all possible).

The GT+ comment gave me an idea, and I'm wondering if this is what you meant: Leave PT where it is (old box), share the stored HH files (new box), point to them in the locate files dialog in PT, install & run GT+ on the new box, pointing to the shared DB on the old box. Yes?

TITHEAD 06-24-2005 01:30 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
I use a 3 machine setup and i use PT for all 3 machines. All i do is map the harddrives for each machine and when i want to update from a different computer i just point PT to the relating folder.

Put simply i host on one machine and just tell it to look at a different folder when i want it updated from the other machines.

NateDog 06-24-2005 02:00 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
[ QUOTE ]
I use a 3 machine setup and i use PT for all 3 machines. All i do is map the harddrives for each machine and when i want to update from a different computer i just point PT to the relating folder.

Put simply i host on one machine and just tell it to look at a different folder when i want it updated from the other machines.

[/ QUOTE ]

Are you using a GT+ plugin on the comp you are playing on, or do you not use a heads-up display?

tinhat 06-24-2005 02:02 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
[ QUOTE ]
Can I use the old box to host PT? Sounds simple enough right?

[/ QUOTE ]

Sure - with UNIX or linux it's second-nature. The old processor runs pt, you network mount the new machine's drive on the old machine if that's where you want the data and display/interact with pt on the new machine. You could also run gt+ on the old machine but display it in the same say on the new machine. This would almost entrely unburden your new machine's CPU.

But windows was designed as a single-user, non-networked OS and knowing that UNIX/linux can do this doesn't help you. However, there are windows products that copy UNIX's X client-server technology to give you what I described above. The only one I can think of is "Exceed" (I think the company name is/was Hummingbird). I have no idea if they're still in business but know there are others...

Mike

Lady Dont Tekno 06-24-2005 02:20 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
DVD Problem - Download VLC Media Player.

SOLVED.

LDT

RPMick 06-24-2005 05:35 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
[ QUOTE ]
If you only have 1 monitor, then get a switch box. You can get switch's that connect your keyboard, mouse and monitor to two different computers, and then you just press a button on the switch to go back and forth between the two.

[/ QUOTE ]

LOL. Retail outlets will call this a KVM switch. Any Best Buy or Walmart should have them.

-Ryan

RPMick 06-24-2005 05:39 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
[ QUOTE ]
But windows was designed as a single-user, non-networked OS

[/ QUOTE ]

Without getting off topic here I just want to say that this is flat wrong. Save the windows bashing for somewhere else. Fact is, majority of people are more familiar with how to network windows clients then they are any Unix platform.

-Ryan

_dave_ 06-24-2005 08:10 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
Hi,

as others have suggested, the VLC Media player should serve all your video needs. It is very good. Another option, the K Lite Codec Pack should add support for almost any file format with media player.

Regarding the twin comp pokertracker set up, you sound like you have got there already:
[ QUOTE ]
The GT+ comment gave me an idea, and I'm wondering if this is what you meant: Leave PT where it is (old box), share the stored HH files (new box), point to them in the locate files dialog in PT, install & run GT+ on the new box, pointing to the shared DB on the old box. Yes?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes. This should work fine, you can set the old box to update at 1 minute intervals without slowing down your new poker playing computer (I guess this is why you want such a setup - performance). Just set the auto-import path to a network folder, something like "\\new-box\program files\partypoker\hand history\natedog" or wherever the new HHs are getting saved to.

GameTime+ looks a bit of a problem though. There is nowhere to set the path to pokertracker databases in it's preferences, so It will not be easy to run GT+ on a remote database - It seems to use the windows registry to locate available pokertracker databases. With some trickery it should be possible, but my guess is lot/bit of trial & error to run GT+ over a network.

Playerview and the new PlayerStats 2+2 thread seem to be able to this easily, since they both allow you to specify the locations of you PT databases.

GT+ is my favourite, but i do have playerview aswell. Maybe GT+ asks you for the database locations during installation - if it does, i dont remember this bit. If anyone else knows if GT+ can be done with a remote DB, please chime in.

[ QUOTE ]
I'm gonna have to swap out the dual monitor card in the old box, and once I do, I don't plan on having a monitor connected to it.

[/ QUOTE ]

I you do this, you would likely need some method to start/stop pokertracker, and view your stats etc. For this i would recommend TightVNC, a remote desktop program. You basically get the old comp's desktop in a window on your new comp, and can use the old comp as if you were in front of it. Windows has some form of remote desktop utility, but I don't know how good this works, or if you even have it. (I don't think you get it with WinXP Home).

Good luck,

Dave.

Nomad84 06-24-2005 08:26 PM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
[ QUOTE ]
If you do this, you would likely need some method to start/stop pokertracker, and view your stats etc.

[/ QUOTE ]

Check this thread in the software forum: http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/sh...o=&fpart=1

I haven't used it, but is sounds like it may be suited to this type of use. Not sure if it would work since you won't have a monitor on the second system. In that case, you may be able to use it along with AutoHotKey to set up hotkeys for the second box to open your programs. Use a monitor on it to get everything set up and then you may be able to control that computer fully (for your limited purposes) without a display on it.

smoore 06-25-2005 01:45 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
But windows was designed as a single-user, non-networked OS

[/ QUOTE ]

Without getting off topic here I just want to say that this is flat wrong. Save the windows bashing for somewhere else. Fact is, majority of people are more familiar with how to network windows clients then they are any Unix platform.

-Ryan

[/ QUOTE ]

rant:

bzzzzt. you miss. I (and anyone else) will windows bash anytime we damn well please. It's a bad OS teamed with a horrible philosiphy and exemplary marketing. He commented on it's DESIGN, not it's implementation. It was designed as a single user, non networked operating system. No amount of punditry will change that. Ever. Even for NT. If XP is ground-up why do we still have the kludges?

endrant

As far as what the OP wants to do, I believe he wants PT to "live" on the old machine (and maybe it'll datamine with some gnome accounts) and then he can access the info on his new machine. His new machine will run his GT++ or PV and get it's information from the PT machine. The PT machine will get hand histories from the current playing session on the "new" machine.

AFAIK, PT is completely capable of doing this all on it's own, it's one of the reasons he will give you two different license codes. I haven't had the need for it so I've never looked into it but it should be there. Hit the manual, hit the forums, I'm pretty sure you can just do this.

And yeah, just use VNC for when you have to sit at the "new" machine and control the "old" machine.

JoePro 06-25-2005 11:57 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
The reason PT can't find your DB is because it uses system DSNs to locate the DBs. On the computer where PT is installed, take a look in 'Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Data Sources (ODBC)'. You'll see a couple entries starting with 'PTR'. Those need to be created on the other comp as well, pointing to the shared PT folder on the host.

Good luck.

JoePro 06-25-2005 11:58 AM

Re: I want to try something I haven\'t seen yet (network question)
 
Oh, and with the DSN entries created properly, I see no reason as to why GT+ would not work.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.