Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Micro-Limits (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Protect this hand? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=405431)

12-26-2005 04:11 PM

Protect this hand?

Newbie here; I've been reading SSHE. I don't know if this was an appropriate situation where I would want to "protect my hand" by raising. Also, once I did (and got Villain heads up) I didn't know how to behave on the turn and river. I'm sure this is probably a pretty elementary situation; sorry if it's not very interesting. Any thoughts would be appreciated...

BisonBison didn't seem to work w/ this site's hand history, so I tried to do it by hand...

Texas Hold'em $0.15-$0.30
Hero is BB with 8[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 8[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], Villain is in MP3, MP1 payed a forced bet.
Reads: EP3 and MP2 are both very loose passive. No real read on Villain because he just arrived at the table a few hands ago.

Pre-flop
4 players call (including the forced bet and the loose-passive guys I mentioned), Villain raises, 2 folds, SB calls, Hero calls, everyone else calls.

I called here thinking the odds are big enough to try to flop a set, especially since the loose-passive guys are likely to call for one more bet.

Flop: (12 SB) 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img],5[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img],4[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]
SB checks, Hero checks, 4 more checks, Villain bets, SB folds, Hero raises, everyone else folds, Villain calls.

So I flopped an overpair, but it is pretty weak since any card higher than an 8 could make someone a better pair, and there is also a flush draw. I figure Villain probably has 2 overcards or a reasonably high pocket pair. I may have the best hand right now if he has AK or something, but probably not.