Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Micro-Limits (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   AKs play too passive? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=171304)

bilbo-san 01-05-2005 05:17 AM

AKs play too passive?

I don't think this hand is all that spectacular, but I'm still learning so I need the advice even on some boring hands [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

No reads -- I just sat down.

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (9 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is MP3 with K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img].
UTG folds, UTG+1 folds, MP1 folds, MP2 calls, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, CO folds, Button folds, SB calls, BB calls, MP2 calls.

Flop: (8 SB) 7[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 8[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, MP2 calls, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, SB folds, BB calls, MP2 folds.

Turn: (6.50 BB) A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, Hero calls.

In a nutshell, I rarely know how to read stop-and-go play. Given that I feel most players will automatically put you on AK when you raise preflop, I interpreted in this bet as "Yeah, I know you paired an Ace, but screw off -- it helps me even more".

I mean, surely if he had 2 pair or better on the flop I would have seen 3 bets then?

River: (8.50 BB) 9[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, Hero calls.

So I called down. Too passive? Too loose? Just right? Criticism welcome.

Final Pot: 10.50 BB

Hack 01-05-2005 05:47 AM

Re: AKs play too passive?