Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Sports Betting (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   I might actually have to hedge this stupid bet.... (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=359153)

kyro 10-17-2005 12:41 AM

I might actually have to hedge this stupid bet....

If anyone remembers, Bodog was offering an insane line in order to rope amateur bettors into their site. They had a line

"Wild Card team does not win WS" at (-120).

Now, I'm an amateur (re: terrible) bettor, but even I can see how great of a line this is.

Thing is, looks like Astros are going to get further than I thought. I had put $100 on this bet, and at the time I wasn't too concerned. I really thought the Astros had no chance to get to the WS and I figured if the Red Sox did, well then hell, I just paid $100 to see them win again.

But $100 is a lot to me. So as long as the Astros are bigger dogs than +120 in the series, I most likely will put some money down to ensure I get paid something...or at the very least lose nothing.

So I ask you, if the Astros don't choke and make it to the WS. What do you see the line being set at?

lastchance 10-17-2005 12:55 AM

Re: I might actually have to hedge this stupid bet....

They had that kind of a line? Friggin insane.

craig r 10-17-2005 03:07 AM

[ QUOTE ]
If anyone remembers, Bodog was offering an insane line in order to rope amateur bettors into their site. They had a line

"Wild Card team does not win WS" at (-120).

Now, I'm an amateur (re: terrible) bettor, but even I can see how great of a line this is.

Thing is, looks like Astros are going to get further than I thought. I had put $100 on this bet, and at the time I wasn't too concerned. I really thought the Astros had no chance to get to the WS and I figured if the Red Sox did, well then hell, I just paid $100 to see them win again.