Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Home Poker (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Question on all in situations (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=196453)

Art Vandelay 02-15-2005 06:46 PM

Question on all in situations
 
I've got a rules/etiquette home game question. Let's say player A moves in with AK, and player B calls with 99 (exact cards aren't really an issue, just an example). I muck my Ax so the player's flip over their cards and "it's a race" is one of the first things you hear from one of the spectators. Am I out of order announcing that I had one of Player A's outs when I mucked my Ax before any comunity cards are dealt? It has no bearing on the action, the flop turn and river are coming and nothing will change the outcome. I ask this both from a rules and an etiquette perspective.

It would seem to me that this is OK, but I just wanted to know. Thanks for any insight.

warewulf 02-15-2005 06:50 PM

Re: Question on all in situations
 
I would wait until after the AK draws dead. Might as well let him hope he has a chance. After the chips are gone and he's out, the news wont be the crushing blow since his chips are already gone.

I hate it when the cards are not even dealt yet and one guy says he had an ace, another had a king.

Stew 02-15-2005 06:53 PM

Re: Question on all in situations
 
[ QUOTE ]
I've got a rules/etiquette home game question. Let's say player A moves in with AK, and player B calls with 99 (exact cards aren't really an issue, just an example). I muck my Ax so the player's flip over their cards and "it's a race" is one of the first things you hear from one of the spectators. Am I out of order announcing that I had one of Player A's outs when I mucked my Ax before any comunity cards are dealt? It has no bearing on the action, the flop turn and river are coming and nothing will change the outcome. I ask this both from a rules and an etiquette perspective.

It would seem to me that this is OK, but I just wanted to know. Thanks for any insight.

[/ QUOTE ]

It is definitely NOT a rules violation as long as no more players involved in a hand have no betting abilities. As far as etiquette goes, it's pretty common in the home tourney I play regularly and at casinos tourneys I've played in for players to announce this. Personally I don't do it at Casinos, but I have done it home games. Particularly if the AK player has the 99 player covered. If it's the other way around, I usually wait until the cards are out. I don't think anyone would have any problem with this as far as I know.

fishfeet 02-15-2005 07:08 PM

Re: Question on all in situations
 
I had a similar situation once..

I opened with a raise with AK, person to my left goes all-in for not much more, a 3rd player goes allin as well, who has me covered.

I folded, but flipped my cards face up when I said it..

One of the guys got all upset with me saying that its wrong to do it.
I said that it is not a violation of the rules and it doesnt effect the outcome...
Ive seen it done in casinos as well... not just verbally announcing your hand, but flipping your hand as you fold.. kind of like an information fold... saying you were really strong but are folding because you are beat. It has its purposes in some situations I guess.

Anyway, there really isnt anything wrong with it. Some people just want to have 'hope' I guess.. but thats just silly.

Stew 02-15-2005 07:15 PM

Re: Question on all in situations
 
[ QUOTE ]
I had a similar situation once..

I opened with a raise with AK, person to my left goes all-in for not much more, a 3rd player goes allin as well, who has me covered.

I folded, but flipped my cards face up when I said it..

One of the guys got all upset with me saying that its wrong to do it.
I said that it is not a violation of the rules and it doesnt effect the outcome...
Ive seen it done in casinos as well... not just verbally announcing your hand, but flipping your hand as you fold.. kind of like an information fold... saying you were really strong but are folding because you are beat. It has its purposes in some situations I guess.

Anyway, there really isnt anything wrong with it. Some people just want to have 'hope' I guess.. but thats just silly.

[/ QUOTE ]

LOL, the guy that was mad at your for doing this is a moron. Sometimes I do this as well to show what sort of hands I'm laying down (and/or raising and then folding) to set people up later.

Art Vandelay 02-15-2005 09:01 PM

Re: Question on all in situations
 
Thanks for the replies guys. I ask because I was at a home game last week and this situation arose. The AK guy bitched and moaned about it, claiming it was against the rules (everyone pretty much told him he was full of it) and how it was rude. Of course he was Mr. "I'm wearing sunglasses even though we're playing a $20 buy in tourney where half the room is drunk". I was happy because he lost the hand and hit the rail. I knew it was legit rule wise, but didn't know if there was some etiquette violation. I didn't say anything because I wasn't involved in the hand and I only knew about 4 out of 20 people there.

I always enjoy it when the know it all table coach and his sunglasses bust out of a tourney when he thinks we should all be bowing to his poker knowledge. Especially when they aren't nearly as good as they think (read weak tight).


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.