Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Small Stakes Shorthanded (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Cold calling preflop (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=403298)

12-22-2005 05:21 AM

Cold calling preflop

is it ever right? i've gotten the impression it isn't. but it could be used profitably for deception purposes?

say for example i'm at a somewhat passive preflop table and UTG raises, i just call with AA-QQ perhaps and everyone else calls. but if i were to raise they would mostly fold.

obviously in late position raising is best to trap bets but what about early on?

therockofgibraltar 12-22-2005 05:56 AM

Re: Cold calling preflop

I am no expert but I rarely cold-call. If there is no one else in the pot except the raiser I NEVER cold-call. It is 3-bet or fold. IF there are a cold-caller after the initial raiser, then I might cold-call with some suited hands that lack high card strength or offsuited hands like AQo for example. Don't know if this is good or not though.

ArturiusX 12-22-2005 07:35 AM

In loose games, I sometimes cold call suited connectors and small pairs, but generally you should either be dominating his hand range or be dominated by his hand range, so 3-bet or fold.

imported_leader 12-22-2005 02:52 PM

You're not missing much by never CC'ing, but there are some times I think it's good:
* You have something like KQ or AJo in the SB against an aggressive yet not crazy PFR. CC makes post flop a ton easier IMO over 3-betting, and you're hand is too good to fold.
* You have a big drawing hand like QJs, JTs, T9s or PP in LP after 2 other CC's. If you're in the SB, you can do it with just one CC if the raiser is loose like 25+% PFR or the CC is completely awful and will likely pay you many bets when you hit. Also BB can't be too aggressive.

MrWookie47 12-22-2005 03:30 PM