Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Beginners Questions (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   You Can't Go Pro Without Already Being a Pro (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=385392)

lehighguy 11-26-2005 02:25 AM

You Can\'t Go Pro Without Already Being a Pro

I want to play X hands and win X dollars before going pro.

I work 60-80 hours a week since I graduated, so I can't play any hands.

This is a tough catch 22 for me.

I'm including 3 polls I would only like people to answer if they play full time for a living and make at least $70k/year.

I've made about $25,000 this year part-timing with long breaks (like when I started work), including an $8k multi cash in. I've played over 100,000 hands and over 500 SnGs but a lot of them are from when I played the lower levels.

lighterjobs 11-26-2005 03:57 AM

Re: You Can\'t Go Pro Without Already Being a Pro

just quit your job already. life's too short.

snowbank 11-26-2005 04:34 AM

just quit your job already. life's too short.

11-26-2005 12:52 PM

I think your question is actually pretty valid and deserving more than just a short non-thought out answer.

Unfortuanlly I havent made this move myself, but I know others that have, and have had some thoughts about it for myself.

I currently make 60K at my current job. Ive talked to people who play up to 10/20 online, multitable, along with bonuses, and they can spend more than 60-70 hours a week just to average an amount that doesnt even equal my 60K a year.

Plus on top of that, you have to consider that you still are responsible for paying taxes, and well as make up for all the other benefits that having a job provides you with. (Health insurance being the major one, it's way more expensive when you have to pay for it on your own)