Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Internet Gambling (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Is working for the U.S. government out of the question? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=347644)

gildwulf 09-30-2005 12:44 PM

Is working for the U.S. government out of the question?

Hi,

I will be finishing my graduate program in international relations at the end of this year and will be looking for jobs soon. I was wondering if working for the government is completely out of the question in the U.S. (particularly the state department) because I have played online poker. I started playing this year but have not declared taxes yet. Will playing online poker prevent me from getting jobs?

Jeffage 09-30-2005 12:50 PM

Re: Is working for the U.S. government out of the question?

It kinda depends how high security your job will be and how deep they will look into your stuff. A basic background check probably will only look into criminal histories. Other ones can go deeper: credit, finances, associations, the works. If you are not a criminal (ie. pay your taxes) and don't lie, I don't see it being a problem but I am just guessing.

Jeff

gildwulf 09-30-2005 12:55 PM

What about foreign service?

mattw 09-30-2005 12:57 PM

playing online poker is not a crime. yet.

gildwulf 09-30-2005 01:09 PM

Doesn't the justice department have a hostile stance towards online gambling?

Rasputin 09-30-2005 01:22 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Doesn't the justice department have a hostile stance towards online gambling?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes, but it's largely irrelevant to your question. Unless you're going to be either at an extremely high security area, or be an extremely public presence, then nobody is going to care that you have played poker online in the past.

Actually, some will, but it will be because of the person not the fact that it's the federal government.

Mendacious 09-30-2005 01:33 PM