Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Beginners Questions (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   How Much Would I Have To Make? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=339803)

sthief09 09-19-2005 02:31 AM

How Much Would I Have To Make?

I don't think this question is within the scope of this forum, but it is probably the most important question I'll ever post on 2+2, so I'm putting it here. I'd really appreciate any advice, as I know a lot of you are very knowledgeable about this stuff.

I am 21 and a senior at Columbia University in NYC. I am an "Engineering and Management Systems" major, which is under INdustrial Engineering and Operations Research. I have a 3.04 GPA including some ugly grades, I have some work experience but not great. I'm interested in consulting or marketing, and I think I'd be good at it. I'm not very confident so I probably won't interview particularly well. I live in Manhattan and I plan on staying here. I have a girlfriend who I'll probably be marrying within the next 2-3 years, who supports me in anything I do, so poker won't cause a problem.

My dad is a very successful entrepreneur of a now-public company who I have endless amounts of respect for, so he obviously is not thrilled with the whole poker thing, though he does like to gamble in Vegas. So he's not opposed to it as an activity. my parents paid my tuition. I didn't get along with him until about a year or two ago, and I think my relationship with him would be very shaky if I didn't get a job, or continue my education, after college.

I don't have many options but here they are:
- I can try to get my master's in operations research or financial engineering here, which would be very good for consulting and finance, respectively. I don't know that I'd get accepted. I'd give myself about a 20% chance. it is a one year program