View Full Version : Phoenix Foundation

06-21-2005, 08:38 PM
There is an upcoming charity tournament run by the Phoenix Foundation.

The Phoenix Foundation is a charity that supports charitable causes, according to their web site. However, I'm not sure what they do, exactly. From looking around the various websites, I don't get that warm and fuzzy feeling. Instead, I'm a little nervous about participating in any of their tournaments.

Why is their web site a .com? If they're a registered charity, shouldn't they be using .org? I'm also worried that they don't list exactly what charities get money.

Should I be worried or am I overthinking it?

Phoenix Foundation (http://www.phoenixfoundationinc.com)
Holdem4charity (http://holdem4charity.org)
Win A Vette (http://www.winavette.org)

Sorry if this is the wrong forum. I'm not sure where I should put this.

06-21-2005, 08:54 PM
Does MacGyver still work for the Phoenix Foundation? If so then you can surely trust them.


06-21-2005, 08:58 PM
I'd say it's definately a scam.

A true non-profit, particularly a foundation that makes donations to other charities, would have links for those charities to solicit donations or submit grant requests. Also a true 501(C)3 would likely have some information about when it was founded, where they are based, the size of their endowment, boards of directors, officers, etc.

Hell, there's not even a mailing adress on the website. Don't touch any of these f*ckwads' promotions!!!