PDA

View Full Version : My favorite insane floor ruling.


mosch
10-09-2004, 04:42 AM
Playing in an Act 2 at Foxwoods today, and I had a bizarre situation come up.

I was in the cutoff, and the first few players folded, then the small blind noted that one of the buttons cards had been exposed to him. When it's determined that he definitely saw the card, that card was declared dead from the button's hand.

At this point a few players mucked their hands (including the blinds) as they thought it was a misdeal, but the dealer quickly called the floor, who agreed with the dealer that because it was player error, the hand was live, but all the mucked hands were to remain mucked.

It folded to me, and to my left was the button, who had one card, and the blinds, both of whom had no hole cards. Safest blind steal ever.

Thank you, floor!

whiskeytown
10-09-2004, 05:14 AM
had one recently that sorta perturbed me...

near the break in the first 1/3rd of a NL tourney, I get AK in LP - ready to raise when someone makes a mistake -

floor is called - hand is declared dead - I show cards to players next to me (sb and bb) and get ready to muck them

when the floor says...."No, his (the player who made an error)" hand is dead, not the whole dealt hand - everyone else still plays" -

9 times out of 10, when I hear "the hand is dead" - I'm assuming the WHOLE hand is dead and redealt - but sometimes it's just one person apparently - but we don't say "the player's hand is dead" - we say "the hand is dead" to encourage a bunch more mistakes -

It's my fault for flashing my cards, of course...and an all-in would have still taken it, but I was too irritated at the way the situation had been allowed to unfold and the fuzziness of what the floorperson said that I just decided "screw it" and mucked em anyways. -

an all-in was my only other hope and I would have to hope no one would call with 33 (which one guy had)

RB

Equal
10-09-2004, 06:19 AM
lol okay that is officially the most hilarious thing I have ever read!!!! LMAO!!!

Andy B
10-09-2004, 01:43 PM
I like to bash Foxwoods in general, and their floor staff in particular, as much as the next guy. It seems to me, however, that that was the proper ruling. What exactly was insane about it?

scrub
10-09-2004, 05:24 PM
I agree.

The floor did the right thing.

The dealer sucked as much as most FW dealers do, though.

scrub

Andy B
10-10-2004, 01:37 AM
I like bashing Foxwoods' dealers even more than I like bashing their floor staff.

mosch
10-11-2004, 01:11 PM
Oh, it was the right ruling... it was just a bizarre situation, really.

Of course that entire Act was insane, to get a 10th player, we convinced an Act 1 player to put up $100, and four of us from the table, and one player's wife each put up $10 to cover his last $50.

For a bad floor ruling, I guess I'd have to reference the floor who without being asked ruled that I couldn't straddle in no-limit (helpfully explaining that I'd have position on the entire field, cheaply), then came back two hands later and said that I could.

jedi
10-11-2004, 04:43 PM
[ QUOTE ]

It folded to me, and to my left was the button, who had one card, and the blinds, both of whom had no hole cards. Safest blind steal ever.

Thank you, floor!

[/ QUOTE ]

While I agree that mucked hands stay mucked, why didn't the button receive another card?

Rah
10-11-2004, 08:01 PM
I basically wonder the same thing when I get a hand like A4os. Why can't I show the small card to the SB and draw a new card until I have a nice hand like AK or aces?

astroglide
10-12-2004, 11:58 AM
It folded to me, and to my left was the button, who had one card, and the blinds, both of whom had no hole cards.

this still cracks me up every time i glance over the thread

junkmail3
10-12-2004, 12:07 PM
[ QUOTE ]
It folded to me, and to my left was the button, who had one card, and the blinds, both of whom had no hole cards.

this still cracks me up every time i glance over the thread

[/ QUOTE ]

I guess if you only have one card, say an A /images/graemlins/heart.gif, you don't have to worry about a crappy kicker and you can play!

submariner
10-12-2004, 04:18 PM
Why couldn't the button just show everyone the exposed card and keep it? Wouldn't that be better than playing with one card?

DrSavage
10-12-2004, 04:22 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Why couldn't the button just show everyone the exposed card and keep it? Wouldn't that be better than playing with one card?

[/ QUOTE ]

If I ever lost to anyone playing with only one card I'd quit poker right there and then.

astroglide
10-12-2004, 04:38 PM
i think i would have called the raise with one card there, it would have been too funny

mike l.
10-12-2004, 06:13 PM
at commerce about 2 months ago there was a ruling made by the floor on something preflop that was clearly incorrect. another floor from the stud section wandered over after the decision and someone at the table explained to him what happened. his response was to sort of laugh and look bewildered and say "well fuuck that.." then he asked a few questions of us about the scenario and his reply to each of those was a bewildered "oh fucck that!" then we asked him what he would rule and he just shook his head and said "oh fuuck that..". it was very interesting.

mike l.
10-12-2004, 06:16 PM
id just be interested to know what would have happened if he had limped.

Sponger15SB
10-12-2004, 06:37 PM
[ QUOTE ]
id just be interested to know what would have happened if he had limped.

[/ QUOTE ]

The guy with one card would have sense weakness and raised, causing our hero to fold.

mike l.
10-12-2004, 06:51 PM
"I basically wonder the same thing when I get a hand like A4os. Why can't I show the small card to the SB and draw a new card until I have a nice hand like AK or aces?"

as nice as it would seem to be to have a rule trying to prevent that from happening constantly it actually sucks. i know because we have a rule preventing that at the place i play at a lot.

when a card flashes inadvertently even if another player can call out the exact card the player does not get a new card. if it flips all the way over due to the dealer screwing up then he does. but if it flashes it doesnt matter. this only counts for during the deal. and it happens all the time. it really really sucks.

Boris
10-12-2004, 07:08 PM
IMO the ruling in this case was correct.

M.B.E.
10-13-2004, 06:27 AM
[ QUOTE ]
IMO the ruling in this case was correct.

[/ QUOTE ]
From Mosch's description it sounds like one of the button's cards was declared dead -- meaning presumably that he could still play the other one and conceivably win in a showdown. That cannot be correct.