Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market

Old 12-12-2005, 03:25 PM

Default Anyone have an opinion on Jim Shepherd?

I've been reading Jim Shepherd (jasmts.com) for a while and I find him interesting. Does anyone on here have a strong opinion about him one way or another? I'm just getting started in researching investing and Shepherd, Bob Brinker and the books you guys recommend in various threads have been my big resources so far. I'm just wondering because I'm in that "I don't know enough to know what I don't know" phase, so I'm interested to know what others think of the quality of my resources.

Thanks for any opinions-

-bb.
Old 12-12-2005, 05:50 PM

Default Re: Anyone have an opinion on Jim Shepherd?

Warning: the following opinion is based on about 10 minutes of research. I had never heard of this guy until your post, but as Shakespeare said, "the empty vessel makes the loudest sound."

* Bottom line: I'm very skeptical of this guy.

* If he is really capable of doing 19% cagr (as his $10k->$593k chart implies), then he should be managing a 1&20 hedge fund and not selling $500 newsletters.

* But that's the knock on all the people like him, so how about this angle...if he's really capable of calling the market's "signals," he could be earning a lot more money by working in the forecasting group at a big i-bank. According to this guy's website, he's been way more correct than Abby Joseph Cohen ever dreamed of being.

* His bio is a shade (or two) too promotional for my taste.

* Pretty basic typos always turn me off: "investments that have enjoyed a consistant rise" and "If cancel, you may with my compliments, keep all Reports received to that date."