Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market

Old 12-03-2005, 05:48 PM

Default Why would I want to open an IRA?

Okay, I'm doing my taxes for '05 and I am trying to understand the logic behind an IRA. Why would I want to put 40k (I think the maximum is) into an IRA?

Sure, I don't have to pay taxes on it now, but I will when I withdraw it, correct? So what's the point? I either invest it on my own, pay taxes on the principal now, and pay taxes on the interest as I go along or I pay all the tax later (but I can't touch the money for almost 40 years).

I can't see why anyone would want to do this unless their company was matching contributions. As a self-employed person, I don't see the point.

Try to convince me otherwise?
Old 12-03-2005, 05:57 PM

Default Re: Why would I want to open an IRA?

Sadly I'm not an expert, but I believe IRA cotributions are deductible (so you reduce yoru income and play less taxes) and it grows tax free (i.e. the "income" generated between depositing and w/ding when you're 60 or whatever cycles through tax free so more money is going back into the IRA so with compound interest you make more money).

So yeah...it's basically the way to go for long term investments. If your situation is unique (or hell, even if it isn't) you should talk to someone smarter than an internet message board.

J
Old 12-03-2005, 06:00 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Okay, I'm doing my taxes for '05 and I am trying to understand the logic behind an IRA. Why would I want to put 40k (I think the maximum is) into an IRA?

Sure, I don't have to pay taxes on it now, but I will when I withdraw it, correct? So what's the point? I either invest it on my own, pay taxes on the principal now, and pay taxes on the interest as I go along or I pay all the tax later (but I can't touch the money for almost 40 years).