Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > News, Views, and Gossip

Old 12-01-2005, 09:08 PM

Default Russ Georgiev?

OK, I'm not sure if this is exactly the right forum for this sort of thing (maybe it should be in Beginners or OOT), but here goes: who is this Russ Georgiev guy who keeps posting over on RGP? (No flames please, I'm asking for real: I'm relatively new to poker and I'm genuinely curious) And do any of the claims he makes (about Brunson/Reese et al. being the biggest cheats in the history of poker, his own (inflated?? you tell me) opinion of his playing abilities, his allusions to his own cheating) have any truth about them? He seems to be a rather polarizing figure over there, and I figure that someone over here could give me the real lowdown on this guy, whether there's some method to his madness, or whether it's just madness. Thanks.

--Scott
Old 12-01-2005, 09:30 PM

Default Re: Russ Georgiev?

He is a spammer (he spams his own site to the newsgroup) who uses trolling as a spamming device.
Old 12-01-2005, 09:31 PM

He's been in a few threads which for the life of me I couldn't point to if I had to. Try the "Search" function everyone seems to complain about. Try NVG, B&M to start.
Old 12-02-2005, 01:18 AM

Hi cognito,

Russ Georgiev is a piece of crap deposited upon RGP by Mike Caro several years ago. Caro, ever the relentless self-promoter, thought he was going to be at the center of a big-time cheating expose and foisted Russ onto the newsgroup.

It turned out that Russ didn't actually have much, if any, substantive evidence of anything going on anywhere within the last 25 years, but posted relentlessly, accusing everyone and their mother of being a cheater.

Caro eventually left the newsgroup, leaving Russ behind. Though by no means solely responsible for the degradation of the group, Caro, IMO, does not receive his fair share of the blame for giving Russ a voice.