Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-01-2005, 02:33 PM

Default I am a nOOB

Hello guys

This is my first post in this forum [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

I know absolutely nothing of the stock market aside from what I learned in high school in a chessy marketing and economics class which was required to graduate.

I have been poking around diffrent site reading a little.

I was wondering if guru's could possible point me in the right direction of where I can begin my self education on the subject.

I have a small pile of cash (from poker winnings)I am willing to play with to learn.

The ideas on this piticular page I thought might be a good starting point to get my feet wet. msn money

I am 27 and have made some steps to prepair for my retirement.

I have worked for UPS for 10 years. I particapate in the stock oprtions, the 401K and in 15 more years I will have compeleted all requirements for my full pension.

I now would like to start investing some of my savings which is only collecting .05% intrest in a savings account.

I would like to start of small and build my bank roll as I have done in poker.
Old 12-01-2005, 03:05 PM

Default Re: I am a nOOB

I started at fool.com about 6 years ago. They have lots of good noobish info, like Investing Basics, 13 Steps to Investing Foolishly, How to Value Stocks, etc.
Old 12-01-2005, 03:16 PM

If you like the suggestions on the MSN money page you linked, it is a good way to start. Certainly better than sitting in an account making no interest.

Do a search for book lists in this forum and start reading everything.
Old 12-01-2005, 06:16 PM

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0060555...mmaculate-books
Old 12-02-2005, 01:48 AM

Some recommendations:

beginner: fool.com, a book for basics on how to read a balance sheet and breakdown and understand a financial statement, the book evan posted