Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market

Old 11-23-2005, 09:26 PM

Default Trailing stop orders

Do any of you use trailing stop orders in your trading?

I recently started using a 2% trailing stop order on my swing trades and it seems to be working out pretty well for me. One thing that noticed with trading stocks, is that much like poker, you need to find a "style" that fits your own personality. Quite an interesting journey. Again I'm a noob swing trader so any feedback would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

NOTE: I only use trailing stops on swing trades, my longterm investments have no stop orders.
Old 11-23-2005, 09:50 PM

Default Re: Trailing stop orders

well you have to adjust it to the volatility of the stock and the price of the stock too. you do a 2% trailing stop on TZOO and you'll get stopped out plenty.
Old 11-23-2005, 09:52 PM

Trailing stops is an excellent way to protect your swing trades.
Old 11-23-2005, 10:20 PM

Thanks for the feedback.

What % do you typically recommend?

1% seems to not cover daily variance and 3% seems too much to lose overall. I'd use 2.5% but I can only use integers at Scottrade, so I'm using 2%.
Old 11-24-2005, 12:29 AM

Position sizing and Stops go hand in hand, and should vary based on the expected volatility of the stock you are trading, and the % of equity you are willing to put at risk!
Old 11-24-2005, 01:21 PM

Started swing trading about a month ago. Current system is once my trade hits a 3% gain, I put in an trailing stop alert at 2% off the high.

I generally use alerts and "mental stops" vs. preordered when I'm available at the computer. If the trailing stop alert is triggered, I make my call then to sell or not.