Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-24-2005, 03:56 PM

Default How to become a trader

hello all,

I currently work as a fund accountant having graduated with an accounting degree.

However, i am not certain i want to do accounting fro the rest of my life.

I've always been interested/fascinated with trading. Question is, i am 29 years old, have no experience in it. How difficult would it be to get a job as a trader's assistant at one of the big broker dealers, or even a small one. Or is there no hope for me? what do you guys suggest?

As this would be a huge change in career path (probably be taking a huge pay cut going from asst controller to trader's assistant)

I have been looking around these forums and read some great posts about book recommendations to get started.

Thanks in advance for the replies.
Old 08-24-2005, 04:21 PM

Default Re: How to become a trader

Option 1 - apply to business school - Wharton, Columbia, MIT, Univ Chicago, or any finance heavy B school. Get MBA, apply for trader job.

Option 2 - Move to New York, seek out a job where you can be the accountant for a hedge fund. On the side, dazzle the traders with your money making ideas until they are forced to make you one of their own.

Good luck.
Old 08-24-2005, 05:09 PM

absorb everything you can about trading styles and then start to trade yourself also NETWORK
Old 08-24-2005, 05:16 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Option 1 - apply to business school - Wharton, Columbia, MIT, Univ Chicago, or any finance heavy B school. Get MBA, apply for trader job.

Option 2 - Move to New York, seek out a job where you can be the accountant for a hedge fund. On the side, dazzle the traders with your money making ideas until they are forced to make you one of their own.

Good luck.

[/ QUOTE ]