Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-13-2005, 06:51 PM

Default A few books I have, what\'s next?

A few months ago, I picked up a few books on stocks and investing in general that I intended to read. Being a poor student, I'm obviously not going to be trading anything except playmoney for a while, but I think it's best to start learning now, instead of taking the route of gambling with like $100, which won't teach me anything about intelligent investing, and will just be a waste of time, as I doubt any portfolio management skills can be gained from throwing $100 at a share of stock and paying $7 in commission with it.

My reading list includes:
* Use The News, Maria Bartiromo (finished)
* Millionaire Next Door, Stanley/Danko (finished)
* One Up on Wall Street, Peter Lynch (finished)

* The Interpretation of Financial Statements, Ben Graham
* Intelligent Investor, Ben Graham
* Security Analysis, Graham and Dodd
* 9 Steps to Financial Freedom, Suze Orman
* How to be a Billionaire, Fridson
* Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits, Fisher
* Financial Shenanigans 2nd ED, Schilit
* Essays of Warren Buffett: Lessons for Corporate America, Warren Buffett

I started off by reading a few Trump books, but they were mainly inspirational stories rather than any realistic strategies. I then read Rich Dad Poor Dad, which was also thin, but gave me a brief introduction. After reading John T. Reed's long page review of Kiyosaki's book, I realized that I should treat his books merely as inspirational writing, not anything technical. From Reed's essay, I gathered that Kiyosaki's books were just all the other books I have on the list smacked in one and without any of the numbers, kind of like the beginner poker books that just give you advice without really showing you why it is, as opposed to, say, Sklansky's books, that give some mathematical basis.