Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2004, 05:41 PM
stillnotking stillnotking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 148
Default That ol\' 4th place

$5+1 SNG

4-handed, blinds 50/100. Hero is in SB.

Hero: 1700
BB: 1750
UTG: 1350
Button: 3200

UTG folds, button folds. Hero is dealt A [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]K [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] and raises to 300. BB calls. My read of BB is that he's a solid player, not very aggressive.

Flop:
K [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]9 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]8 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
Hero bets 600. BB calls.

Turn:
6 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]
Hero bets all-in, BB calls.

River:
7 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

BB turns over Q [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]T [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] for the straight.

How did I do playing this hand? Should I have moved all in on the flop (or maybe even before the flop)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2004, 06:27 PM
hurlyburly hurlyburly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 80
Default Re: That ol\' 4th place

Looks like you played it just fine. Gotta love those double gut shot callers. Even if he told me what he had on the turn (I'm sure you had a pretty good idea), that bet was a good one.

Sorry, didn't notice he was on the flush draw as well. That's still a good bet with one card to come.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:09 PM
stupidsucker stupidsucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default Re: That ol\' 4th place

I agree with the preflop play, but I think pushing on the flop is a better play then betting the pot. By betting the pot you are commiting yourself anyways, so you might as well push to increase the chances of taking it down. That flop is not perfect at all. You have only TPTK against a possible flush draw and a possible straight draw.

Push those flops. Did you honestly want him drawing to anything at all? Had you pushed you may still have gotten called, but he would have been calling with bad odds. His call this time still isnt very good, but he did have 2 draws, and you are at the 5+1 level.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:22 PM
stupidsucker stupidsucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default Re: That ol\' 4th place

Result
http://twodimes.net/h/?z=617444
pokenum -h ah kd - qc tc -- kc 9h 8c
Holdem Hi: 990 enumerated boards containing Kc 8c 9h
cards win %win lose %lose tie %tie EV
Kd Ah 512 51.72 478 48.28 0 0.00 0.517
Qc Tc 478 48.28 512 51.72 0 0.00 0.483


According to two dimes with that flop you gave him odds to draw out on you. This flop made this a coinflip. (of course you didnt know what he had)

He only had to call 600 to win 1850. He only needed 32.4% odds and he had 48% By the time you let him see the turn he only had to call 800 to win 3450, 23% odds.. and he had 34% chance of winning.

Pushing this flop still gives him decent odds to beat you, but it makes it very difficult to call with only draws. (he needs 40.6% to call and he has 48%.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2004, 09:44 PM
stillnotking stillnotking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 148
Default Re: That ol\' 4th place

Thanks for the input, and the odds post. My idea on the flop was that if he raised, I could dump the hand... but that would be giving way too much credit even at the $5 level, and would leave me short stacked. Muddled thinking. Also, I'd been making pot-sized bets the whole tournament so there was an element of habit there. Next time I push!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2004, 10:18 PM
willperkins willperkins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 137
Default Re: That ol\' 4th place

You played it just the way I would have played it. You have to make them pay to draw to those flushes and str8s. Unfortunately, he got there this time.

If the blinds were higher than 50/100, I might agree with the push preflop. In hindsight, if you push then BB probably folds, but hindsight is always 20/20.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2004, 02:50 AM
Miamipuck Miamipuck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Default Re: That ol\' 4th place

[ QUOTE ]
You played it just the way I would have played it. You have to make them pay to draw to those flushes and str8s. Unfortunately, he got there this time.

If the blinds were higher than 50/100, I might agree with the push preflop. In hindsight, if you push then BB probably folds, but hindsight is always 20/20.

[/ QUOTE ]

I did not see the level of tournament....... but never assume that a player will fold Q-10 or Q-J to an all-in or re-raise.

In the past two days I have re-raised raisers all-in when I had A-A. I got called both times and am 1/2.

1st time the blinds were 200/400 4 people. UTG raises to 800. I go all in for 2200. SB and BB fold. UTG had me covered and called my re-raise with Q-J of hearts. Flop was 9-9-3 rainbow.
Turn was a Q and so was the river.

The other time was mid tournament. I re rased a raiser and he had Q-10. Flop was Q-4-9 rainbow. Turn was a 10 river was a 4. I lucked out. Anyway with all the morons at Party Poker never assume anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.