Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-17-2005, 04:28 PM

Default Advice/Support needed

Guys I know I have not posted much on this board, but I've been an avid reader on them since Oct 2004. That was when I started taking my poker game seriously and I must say I started out really really hot. I begin playing the Party 10+1 SnGs and gradually built my bankroll up to the point where I was playing the $50+5. I never chalked up a week with a loss either. Than in the middle of Dec. I got talked into playing the Party 5/10 by a friend and I was winning that game, at the time my bankroll was only 2000. I built it up and before long I started playing the 15/30 my bankroll was only 3500 when I did this. Well my endeavor into 15/30 did not go so well. I'm not sure if its because I was playing over my head or what, but it seemed like when I played the 15/30 I was getting bad beated left and right. For instance people would raise me on the turn with gutshot straight draws and hit it. Also it seemed like the string of runner runner straights never stopped. So on and so forth, needless to say I lost my whole bankroll and I know its my fault for playing a limit I did not have enough bankroll for. My problem however is this. Since busting out I've tried to play SnGs again, rebuilding from scratch. But the string of beats has not stopped! This is driving me nuts. I have gotten AA countless amounts of times and I can honestly say the last 6 times I've gotten them, they have lost. Psychologically I'm a mess right now. My confidence is totally shot. I used to go into a SnG and expect to take first. Now if I get 3rd I'm grateful that I didn't lose money. I know this is no way to play winning poker. My question is how do you erase this mentallity of feeling like you are going to lose. I've been taking the worse of things on coin flips, which in SnGs is something that cannot