Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-16-2004, 06:23 AM

Default Three big bad beats in a row

Im quite new to poker (playing 4 weeks now) though experienced at game-playing (playing at master level chess)
After testing a bit with play money i decided to try it for real money at party, where i soon played NL $50 and some $100.
Though i dont have much poker experience yet the games were very soft and i managed to be +$275 after a week and about 1k hands. Until yesterday, were all my winnings where nullified. I got very big starting hands, bet big preflop and... lost big

1) I have AKo in early position, raise 4BB preflop, get 4(!) callers, flop is A and 2 rags, i bet pot, get raised for another 5BB by someone else, call, he has AQ and hits a Queen on river

2) I have AA in early position, make it 4BB to go, get raised to 8BB by same player as before, everyone folds, i reraise to 20. Flop is 3 rags of Hearts, not what i like...
I decided to go all in with my remaining 40BB, he calls and hits a fourth heart to make nutflush with AKo.

3) I again have AA in early position, decided to limp because board was very aggressive, someone who overbetted almost every hand bets 15BB (!) i raise allin (50BB), he calls. Board is QQ 3 rags, he wins with QTs (!)

Is this just normal, am I playing this espacially bad or
do i just have to wait until my luck comes back? Normally i would say i would be happy to repeat all these plays (only in case 2 im not so sure) and i have to get much +EV in the long run, but my bankroll tells me now dont do that...
I think i will have to go back to lower limits for first to build it up again, but still cant be believe how bad these plays (especially in case 3) from my opponents were.
Any comments?
Old 08-16-2004, 06:45 AM

Default Re: Three big bad beats in a row