Two Plus Two Older Archives

Two Plus Two Older Archives (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Software (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Swing GUI calling C++... Is this efficient? (http://archives2.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=355379)

10-11-2005 02:52 PM

Swing GUI calling C++... Is this efficient?

Im building a Swing GUI that will parse multi table tournament summaries, have a hand replayer, and also pokerstove-esque EV calculations via hand ranges. I know basic-intermediate C++ and Im completely new to Java. On advice from my cousin, a senior programmer, and all around nerdy badass, Im attacking this from a "Swing GUI that will call on C++ for calculations" angle.

However, in trying to learn Swing, Im finding out Im going to have to become at least as good at Java as I am at C++. So, Im wondering if I couldnt build it all in Java, as a more efficient method.

Thanks for the input... and as for the cryptic title, I only wanted people to look at it who would understand my question.
haha

fish43 10-11-2005 03:13 PM

Re: Swing GUI calling C++... Is this efficient?

Is there a reason why you think C++ would be significantly more efficient than Java at the calculations you are planning? If not, do it all in Java. It'll be a good learning exercise.

beatua 10-11-2005 04:15 PM

I agree.. i cannot see a significant improvement in using jni to call a c++ backend (if any). The old Java-is-too-slow-for-anything argument doesn't hold up anymore.

Just my 2c. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Good luck!
runstop

the_joker 10-11-2005 05:40 PM

Yes, build it all in Java. Java is not slow. Good luck!

10-11-2005 08:08 PM

actually I just did it at the suggestion of my cousin, who I found out is just used to doing it that way. well Im committing to Java, and I've been using an online tutorial, I guess thats the best way to start?

thanks for the help... this language is sooooo less...... cryptic!

slavic 10-12-2005 12:10 AM