PDA

View Full Version : am I a fish? and if so, what type, QK misplayed again

blendedsuit
07-04-2004, 04:16 AM
I wasnt able to check raise the flop as I wanted, and it cost me dearly.

HERO: Qs Kc
PSUPhil: -- --

Pre-flop:

HERO calls. PSUPhil folds. dutch 11 folds.
meleader2 folds. ABIGSLICKK raises to $4.50. dufer folds. syekim13 calls. pilamsolo folds. E-Builder calls. stubbornmule folds. HERO calls.

Flop (board: Qd 2c Ks):

E-Builder checks. HERO checks. ABIGSLICKK checks.
syekim13 checks.

Turn (board: Qd 2c Ks Jh):

E-Builder checks. HERO bets $19. ABIGSLICKK folds.
syekim13 folds. E-Builder raises to $76. HERO goes
all-in for $64.75. E-Builder is returned $11.25
(uncalled).

River (board: Qd 2c Ks Jh 9c):

(no action in this round)

Showdown:

E-Builder shows Th Ah.
E-Builder has Th Ah Qd Ks Jh: straight, ace high.

blendedsuit
07-04-2004, 04:47 AM
also, please let me know if I shouldnt be posting these types of things here as I am new to this poker community. thanks

B1GF1SHY
07-04-2004, 05:02 AM
Yes you should've bet right out on the flop, try and take it down right there since it hit you right on the head and you don't want others drawing. After his huge raise you should've known you were beat and saved yourself alot of money.

AnyutaDva
07-04-2004, 08:35 AM
Blendedsuit, I'd be interested to know why you felt a check raise was the best option here. I'd favour a bet for two reasons. Firstly it is not a board with lots of draws on it. The only draw available is the straight to the KQ, so it isn't as though you need to get the bulk of your money in now to prevent someone attacking a scare card on the turn. Secondly if you check raise in this situation most people are going to be putting you down for the hand you have ( or possibly bottom trips. ) So if you check raise the preflop raiser and he calls you, there is a good chance he has you beat.