PDA

View Full Version : Poker Journal - 4

theBruiser500
07-01-2004, 12:08 PM
Things have turned around, I'm up to $2900 (although by this point I've deposited a full $1200). I was all the wya down to $150 and moved down to .1/.25 NLHE on PS and kept waiting until I had 9 buy ins to move up in stakes. Now I'm at $1/$2 and am very confident that things will continue smoothly.

I've started playing tighter, my VI$IP the past couple weeks is around 20-25 VI$IP, whereas my first few weeks it was 25-29 VI$IP. I've cut down on my suited connectors in EP and I've stopped calling raises with AQ KQ KJ type hands. I started playing MORE pots with Axs in the right situations because apparently that is a money maker for me. Also, I've taken people's advice and changed from 4 tables to 3. 2 full games and 1 shorthanded seems to work well.

The biggest thing I need to work on is still the thing I mentioned in week 1, concentrating on the game. When I start concentrating and not playing on auto pilot and getting reads on people it helps in a very big way. I know that just over the last few days I could have made $500+ if I had just payed more attention.

For anyone that plays at PS NLHE $1/$2 - DO NOT PAY OFF "tunaeatr" or "mockturtle" I hate these players, they are ultra rocks, their vi$ip is 13 and 16 respectively over sever hundred hands with a PFR of 1 - 3%. I hate it when they are the tightest players ever but then raise to somethign ridiculous like $14 preflop and get a lot of action (plus they are stupid people). If you play in their game, stop giving them action.

gomberg
07-01-2004, 12:29 PM
When I used to play $1/2 there, I learned real quickly to not give those guys action. If you get a chance, sit one to the right of these type of players. That way, you get the button twice a round and the cutoff twice usually - a very good situation IMO. Plus, know if these guys will fold an overpair - if not, then call with deep money for a set.