PDA

View Full Version : Paradise $5+$1 SNG vs $10 +$1 SNG

aces_full
06-30-2004, 11:44 AM
I have been playing the $5 +$1 tournaments for about 4 months. I play a few a week and have around 60 under my belt. My statistics seem a little unrealistic based on what I have read here. My ITM is 70%, and 50% of my money finishes are 1st place. MY ROI is about 120%. Based on this small sample, it would appear I'm crushing these tournaments, or is it just a case of having too small of a sample size and these numbers are unsustainable over the long haul? I have seen ROI numbers between 20% and 50% posted, so I guess I'm just having a hot streak. In fact the month of May WAS particularly hot. I won almost every SNG I played all month long.

So now I'm thinking of moving up to the $10 +$1 tournaments. That $50 1st place is much more appealing, and the fact that the rake is only 10% as opposed to 20% at the $5 tables means I don't need to do as good to beat the rake.

Based on my $5 results, am I ready to make the jump? Or do I need to play 500 more $5 SNG's before I have any statistics that are meaningful enough to determine if I am really a winning player at this level?

How about the competition? I can't imagine that my opponents at the $10 tables would be much tougher than the $5 tables. If I play the same way will I still be able to consistently finish in the money?

Any comments appreciated.

Sam T.
06-30-2004, 12:11 PM
Nice stats, but I think the consensus will be that this rate is unsustainable. But enjoy it while it lasts!

I've not played Paradise, but because of the difference in rake, you need to move up yesterday.

SparkMan
06-30-2004, 12:17 PM
There's plenty of loose action at the $10+1 level at paradise. Never played $5+1 because of the ugly commission.

woodguy
06-30-2004, 12:30 PM
Aces,
Nice stats. You are right, they won't last, but its a nice start /images/graemlins/grin.gif