PDA

View Full Version : how conservative in early PS SnG rounds?

dfscott
06-30-2004, 10:50 AM
I'm relatively new to SnGs, and I've been playing PS 5+0.50s. I used to follow AleoMagus' PP SnG guide religiously, but often found myself short stacked going into the later rounds. I've adjusted my early play to be a bit more loose, since everyone's play seems to be more limit than NL style due to the comparatively low blinds at PS. This has helped me build my stack early at a fairly moderate risk. I still try not to chase anything without proper odds, and generally try to avoid any big confrontations.

So when this came up at level two, I was at a loss at how to respond...

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t30 (8 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

UTG (t920)
UTG+1 (t1565)
Hero (t1805)
MP2 (t1195)
CO (t1780)
Button (t1430)
SB (t1945)
BB (t2860)

Preflop: Hero is MP1 with K/images/graemlins/club.gif, K/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises to t120</font>, <font color="666666">4 folds</font>, <font color="CC3333">BB raises to t300</font>, Hero ???

If it was anyone but the big stack, I'd probably push without thinking but considering how early it was, folding seemed like the safe plan. I don't think calling is a good option, since unless a K or A falls on the flop, you still don't know where you are.

Thoughts?

Yeti
06-30-2004, 11:03 AM
I'm another one who despises these tiny raises by opponents. Obviously you suspect aces, but the truth is a lot of these reraises are done with much lesser hands.

In my opinion theres no way you can fold here, you'd simply be playing too tight.

dfscott
06-30-2004, 11:06 AM
[ QUOTE ]
In my opinion theres no way you can fold here, you'd simply be playing too tight.

[/ QUOTE ]

So do you re-raise, push or call?

holeplug
06-30-2004, 11:13 AM