PDA

View Full Version : Difference between limit and NL SNG ?

Zelcious
06-28-2004, 02:44 PM
First a little history
I started playing 5+1 limit SNG at party with 18$ in my
bankroll. When I reached 250 I switched to 10+1, when I reached 640 I started playing 20+1 and after 100 tourneys I reached 1200$. Then I tried 30+3 and lost 9 straight games and finnished 3rd 1 time. I couldn't believe it, was it unluck or was I outplayed ? I returned to safe ground (I thought) 20+1. In the beginning I lost a lot but eventually I back to 1200 after ALOT of struggling. My results was not even close that before the 30+3 thing. 40 torneys later I'm at 950$. Can't understand what happened. Clearly my strategy has changed to the worse. Tried to vary my game and try out different strategys but nothing seem to help.
Sometimes I have 7 or 8 games without getting ITM.

So here is my question, what's the proper limit SNG strategy and how does it differ from NL SNG. (I've seen some NL SNG articles)

Nemesis
06-28-2004, 02:52 PM
sounds like your variance is catching up with you... you won a LOT fast... time for you to lose a lot fast too =( unfortunately

TJD
06-28-2004, 05:57 PM
Last year I played a lot of limit SnGs in GBP which were the equivalent of $50+$5. My ROI was pretty good but after a long run in which the suckouts were so bad I was becominmg increasingly frustrated, I returned to ring games.

During that time, I put lots of posts here asking questions and almost everyone assumed I was playing NL (even tho' I always said limit in my post). The replies were pretty unaminous - play NL!

I now agree with them.

My reasons are that in limit it is very difficult to get your opponents to make a really bad mistake and their general looseness can often be to your disadvantage.