PDA

View Full Version : 10 x? 7x? Allin? Uncertain! Your views appreciated please

TJD
06-27-2004, 05:27 PM
Thanks all for your feedback on my what to do with AK post.

I am new to tournaments so I am trying to make sense of the tactics employed. This one has me a little confused. Can you please help?

A commom suggestion is to raise 3BB but this is overridden if the BB in relation to your stack is big. Hence the 7BB or 10BB advice to raise all in if you are first in and your stack is less than that.

I can follow that since you are pot committed anyway so it is better to increase your chances of stealing the blinds.

However the implication therefore is if you have a big enough stack then you can "afford" to raise only 3BB.

Except on the very rare occasions that you have been dealt AA or KK; as I understand it, late in the competition you just want the blinds! (I may be wrong of course /images/graemlins/smile.gif)You definitely do NOT want a showdown if you have a big stack.

So, if I am in the BB late in the tournament and the button who has been raising a lot raises 3BB from his 11BB stack, my thinking might be "OK, he might have been dealt a monster, but that is unlikely. It is more likely that he has a reasonable raising hand or he is stealing"

Now, if I have a hand that I will clearly play and I have a decent stack such that my reraise might apply pressure and just calling the raise would commit me to the pot anyway then I will of course reraise all in.

However, what if my hand is marginal in terms of getting involved? In this case the extra chance that the button may be stealing makes a reraise allin more appealing. I might win it there.

If the logic above is at all sensible then it is safer for the button to raise all in since I would now be forced to fold the marginal hands as I am unable to reraise and gain "fold equity". I will need a better hand to fight back.